208.Day: Sidi Abdallah-Marrakech

12th of December 2018:

After the failed attempt to dry the tent from the dew of the night with the help of the sun, we started our cycling day. We made good progress, like the day before and refueled in a small village. There, we ordered two soft drinks and bread filled with onions, meat and sauce. We were hungry and the food was delicious, so we ordered the same things again. The owner was impressed and wanted to do a picture together in front of his grill. Afterwards, we destroyed a milk shake at his neighbors shop with five different fruits and attacked the last 35km to Marrakesh. At the home of Cantal, who we know through the community Warmshowers, we could pitch our tent on the roof of her house and had a beautiful view over the city.

207.Day: Casablanca-Sidi Abdallah

11th of December 2018:

We left the luxury of our own room behind and started our cycling day. After we left the chaotic roads of Casablanca behind us, we soon turned to a side road. A lot of agriculture was visible on all sides and every couple of minutes we saw a carriage that had one or several donkeys pulling it. When we pedaled around 100km, the surroundings changed from a green plain to a coarse hilly landscape. Thanks to the good roads, we made good progress and cycled more than 130km in one day for the first time in a while. In a small village, we bought some food. Many children who were present gathered quickly around us and screamed fragments of sentences in minimum three languages in our direction.

205.- 206.Day: Break Days- Casablanca

9th- 10th of December 2018:

Doug showed us a few of the beautiful and most authentic corners of the number one finance center in Morocco and Africa. We especially liked the port on which we saw many fishing boats and anglers presented their catch of the day. Not far from the boats, there were three restaurants, full with locals. After we arrived, all restaurants fought to have us as a guest. There was only one menu available: Freshly grilled sardines, bread and an omelet with shrimps including tea. This all-you-can-eat dish cost around 2.50 Euros.

Besides, we visited the huge mosque again from outside and learnt that there was a green laser beam from the minaret pointing in the direction of Mecca by night. The state-of-the-art mosque is equipped with an automatically opening roof, including floor heating in the prayer hall.  

On our last evening in the city with more than 3 million inhabitants and therefore the largest city for the next few weeks, we treated ourselves with a Thai dish. Before, we enjoyed the sunset from Doug’s roof terrace with a glass of white wine.

204.Day: Rabat-Casablanca

8th of December 2018:

After saying goodbye to our amazing host Daoud, we cycled along the coastal road out of the capital. Quickly, the landscape got rural and shepherds waved energetically at us when we passed. It was a day of contrasts: A palatial king’s property guarded by dozens of soldiers and on the other side of the road, we saw destitute shepherds with their sheep and goat. In Casablanca, next to the second largest mosque in the World, there were housings in a miserable condition and people in front of them begging. The Hassan-II.-Mosque is the highest minaret and the highest religious building in the World. Building the mosque took six years and the reason was the 60th birthday of the former king Hassan II and offers space forup to 25’000 Muslims.

Douglas, an American, who works as a teacher in Casablanca, warmly welcomed us in his apartment in the city center. He offered us a glass of Moroccan wine and we had nice conversations about the live in Morocco and cycle touring.

202.- 203.Day: Break Days- Rabat

6th- 7th of December 2018:

While enjoying the sunshine, we visited the beach in vicinity to the city center and the Kasbah. Kasbah is the Arabic expression used in Maghreb-states for a fortress, which is located inside or outside of a city. In the medina, we roamed through the countless alleys, filled with small shops selling useful and useless things. In addition, we visited the Hassan-Tower, an imposing, unfinished minaret from the 12th century, which belongs to a likewise unfinished mosque. In the evening, our host cooked a Moroccan dish out of nothing and we ate it traditionally with our hands and a lot of bread.

Rabat is the capital of Morocco since 1956 and inherits the residency of the king and the seat of the government. Next to Fez, Marrakesh and Meknes, Rabat is the fourth imperial city of Morocco. Those cities were in the past all once capitals of the country and therefore magnificent.

On our last evening in Rabat, we ate with Daoud in the Medina, tried new sweets and talked about the difference in life comparing Morocco and Europe.

201.Day: Mograne-Rabat

5th of December 2018:

We only woke up after 9.30 AM, since both of us assumed the sun would wake us up. After we opened the zipper of our tent, we realized that there was thick fog all around us. The rather short day until the capital Rabat was rather uninteresting, since the view was bad and one city followed the next one. Kenitra and Salé are worth seeing, if one is looking for an authentic Moroccan town with confusing construction sites, traffic chaos, carriages in the middle of the main road and vegetable vendors where the traffic is supposed to be. In the early afternoon, we reached the large city and were warmly welcomed by our host Daoud. Together with his cousin, we discovered the Medina and tried various freshly squeezed fruit juices.

200.Day: Ouezzane-Mograne

4th of December 2018:

Today is the 200th day on our journey from Norway to South Africa, which means that already one third of the trip is over.

We definitely left the mountains and the landscapes got flat extremely quick. Tractors replaced mules and horses on the huge fields. On the road, we crossed dozens of carriages on the way to the local market, which were pulled by horses and filled with fresh vegetables. On the side of the road, many shepards with their goats, sheep or cows greeted us friendly. Generally, the locals are enthusiastic about seeing two tourists cycling through their country. Whether truck drivers with a honk or men on the side of the road with a smile. For lunch, we had lamb cutlets, which were removed directly in front of our eyes from the animal on the meat hook and directly handed to the pit master. When we had to pay, like most of the time, we had to bargain for the price and did not give up; until we had the feeling, the price was right.

199.Day: Chefchaouen-Ouezzane

3rd of December 2018:

After we crisscrossed the blue, extremely contorted alleys full of small shops, we left Chefchaouen southwards. The many cork oaks we saw during the first few kilometers do not astonish too much, since they constitute 10% of the Moroccan forest and the northern African country is the third largest exporter of cork worldwide. Quickly, the valley was getting smaller and we followed a river most of the day, which was winding through olive plantations and small villages. In the last days, we saw many people ploughing their fields only with small tools or with the help of mules. Today, we even saw men and women milling flour with the help of a donkey.

The hills surrounding us got smaller and the landscape flattened more and more. After Ouezzane, we found a nicely located spot, not far from the road.

198.Day: Akchour-Chefchaouen

2nd of December 2018:

We asked a teenager to look after our bicycles including the luggage and then walked along the river on a small trail. This trail led us up a steep hill, far above the gorge and soon after we could see the “god’s bridge”. We walked until the nature bridge and found an older men there, who was selling drinks and Hashish. Morocco is the biggest exporter of Hashish worldwide. The hemp plants are cultivated mostly in the Rif Mountains east of Chefchaouen. It is estimated that a million people in Morocco earn their livelihood from the cultivation and disposition.

According to locals, we were not able to gaze at the bridge from beneath, since the river carries to much water. However, we saw a small, very exposed trail from the bridge down to the river. We did not want to take the same way back and thought it should somehow be possible to get out of the gorge otherwise. In the beginning, the trail was easily accessible, but got more difficult and more exposed quickly. After a longer period of climbing and crossing the river without shoes, we realized that we had to go back the same way or swim downstream in the cold river. When we climbed back up, we walked back to our bicycles and pedaled on a panoramic road to Chefchaouen.

197.Day: Amsa-Akchour

1st of December 2018:

We enjoyed breakfast supported by superb sunshine and dried our wet clothes. Before we started our cycling day, Hassan tried to convince us once more to do business with him. This time, he was more emotional and even got angry. Especially, when we emphasized that we did not even think about giving him money for the overnight. With the knowledge, this could be his intention; we specifically asked twice yesterday if he wants money for his hospitality and he declined clearly. After we left the failed Moroccan businessperson and his curses behind us, we reached the stunning coastal road. The steep road led us up and down until we reached Oued Laos. Already completely in the Rif mountain range, the road was following a river deeper and deeper into the mountains. The Rif is part of the Atlas mountain range and covers more than 350km from the Mediterranean Sea until the Middle Atlas in the South.

An imposing gorge, which was surrounded by high mountains and many small trails followed, which connect the mountain villages with each other. Shortly after, we reached the “Parc National de Talassemtane” and therefore the village Akchour. The park protects the last fir forest in Morocco.

208.Tag: Sidi Abdallah-Marrakech

12. Dezember 2018:

Nach dem gescheiterten Versuch das Zelt vom Tau der Nacht mit Hilfe der Sonne zutrocknen, starteten wir zu radeln. Wir kamen wie schon am Tag zuvor gut vorwärts und tankten neue Energie in einem kleinen Dorf. Dort bestellten wir zwei Süssgetränke und ein mit Fleisch, Zwiebeln und Sauce gefülltes Brot. Wir hatten Hunger und es war so lecker, dass wir die ganze Bestellung verdoppelten. Der Besitzer war begeistert und wollte ein Foto mit uns vor seinem Grill. Nachdem wir bei seinem Nachbarn einen Milchshake mit fünf verschiedenen Früchten vertilgten, nahmen wir die letzten 35km bis Marrakesch in Angriff. Bei Cantal zu Hause, welche wir über Warmshowers kennen gelernt haben, konnten wir unser Zelt auf dem Dach ihres Hauses aufstellen und hatten eine schöne Aussicht über die Stadt.

207.Tag: Casablanca-Sidi Abdallah

11. Dezember 2018:

Wir liessen den Luxus eines eigenen Zimmers zurück und starteten unseren Fahrradtag. Nachdem wir die chaotischen Strassen Casablancas hinter uns liessen, bogen wir bald auf eine Nebenstrasse ab. Viel Landwirtschaft war auf allen Seiten zu sehen und alle paar Minuten sahen wir eine Kutsche die einen oder mehrere Esel vorgespannt hatten. Nachdem wir etwa 100km geradelt waren, änderte sich die Umgebung von einer grüner Ebene zu einer kargen Hügellandschaft. Dank den sehr guten Strassen kamen wir gut voran und fuhren seit langem wieder über 130km an einem Tag. In einem kleinen Dorf kauften wir Proviant ein. Die vielen anwesenden Kinder versammelten sich schnell um uns und schrien nicht zu verstehende Satzfragmente in mindestens drei verschiedenen Sprachen in unsere Richtung.

205.- 206.Tag: Pausentage- Casablanca

9.- 10. Dezember 2018:

Doug zeigte uns einige der schönsten und authentischsten Ecken des wichtigsten Finanzzentrums Marokkos und Afrikas. Uns gefiel vor allem der Hafen, an welchem viele Fischerboote zu sehen waren und die Fischer ihren Fang präsentierten. Unweit der Schiffe, gab es drei Fischrestaurants, gefüllt mit Einheimischen. Kaum angekommen, kämpften alle Restaurants uns als Gäste zu haben. Es gab nur ein Menu: Frisch gegrillte Sardinen, Brot, ein Omelett mit Shrimps und natürlich Tee. Dies à discrétion für umgerechnet 2.50 Euro.

Ausserdem sahen wir uns die riesige Moschee nochmals von aussen an und erfuhren von einem grünen Laserstrahl der vom Minarett, der bei Dunkelheit in Richtung Mekka ausgerichtet ist. Die topmoderne Moschee verfügt ebenfalls über ein automatisch öffnendes Dach, inklusive Fussbodenheizung in der Gebetshalle.

An unseren letzten Abend in der mit über 3 Millionen Einwohner grössten Stadt für die nächsten paar Wochen, gönnten wir uns ein Thailändisches Menu. Vorher bestaunten wir den Sonnenuntergang von Dougs Dachterrasse bei einem Glas Weisswein.

204.Tag: Rabat-Casablanca

8. Dezember 2018:

Nach dem Verabschieden von unserem netten Host Daoud, fuhren wir entlang der Küstenstrasse aus der Hauptstadt. Schnell wurde die Landschaft ländlicher und Hirten winkten uns energisch zu während dem vorbeiradeln. Es war ein Tag der Gegensätze: Ein prunkvolles Königsanwesen wurde von Dutzenden Soldaten bewacht und auf der anderen Strassenseite sahen wir bettelarme Hirten mit ihren Schafen und Ziegen. In Casablanca neben der zweitgrössten Moschee der Welt, stehen Häuser inmiserablen Zustand und einzelne Menschen betteln am Strassenrand. Die Hassan-II.-Moschee ist das höchste Minarett und höchste religiöse Gebäude der Welt. Die während sechs Jahren zum 60. Geburtstag des damaligen Königs Hassan II. errichtete Moschee bietet Platz für bis zu 25’000 Muslime.

Wir wurden herzlich von Douglas, einem Amerikaner der als Lehrer in Casablanca arbeitet, in seiner Wohnung empfangen. Er offerierte uns ein Glas Marokkanischen Wein und wir hatten nette Gespräche über das Leben in Marokko und Fahrradreisen.

202.- 203.Tag: Pausentage- Rabat

6.- 7. Dezember 2018:

Bei Sonnenschein besichtigten wir den stadtnahen Sandstrand und die Kasbah. Kasbah ist die arabische Bezeichnung für eine innerhalb oder ausserhalb von Städten gelegen Festung und wird mehrheitlich in Maghreb-Staaten verwendet. In der Medina schlenderten wir durch die unzähligen Gassen, gefüllt mit Verkaufsständen welche nützliche und unnütze Dinge verkaufen. Ausserdem besichtigten wir den Hassan-Turm, ein imposantes, unvollendetes Minarett aus dem 12. Jahrhundert, welches zu einer ebenfalls nicht fertig gestellten Moschee gehören sollte. Am Abend zauberte unser Gastgeber spontan eine Marokkanische Mahlzeit, die wir traditionell ohne Besteck und viel Brot assen.

Rabat ist seit 1956 die Hauptstadt Marokkos mit der Residenz und dem Regierungssitz des Königs. Ausserdem ist Rabat neben Fèz, Marrakesch und Mèknes eine der Königsstädte Marokkos. Diese Städte waren in der Geschichte alle einmal Hauptstädte des Landes und dadurch prunkvoll.

An unserem letzten Abend in Rabat assen wir mit Daoud in der Medina, probierten neue Süssigkeiten und unterhielten uns über die Unterschiede des Lebens in Marokko im Vergleich zu Europa.

201.Tag: Mograne-Rabat

5. Dezember 2018:

Wir erwachten erst nach 9.30 Uhr, da wir beide davon ausgingen, die Sonne würde uns wecken. Nachdem wir den Reisverschluss des Zeltes öffneten, realisierten wir den dicken Nebel um uns herum. Der eher kurze Tag bis in die Hauptstadt Rabat, gestaltete sich nicht so interessant, da die Sicht schlecht war und die eine Stadt an die nächste folgte. Kenitra und Salé sind sehenswert, wenn man eine authentische Marokkanische Stadt mit unübersichtlichen Baustellen, Verkehrschaos, Kutschen in der Mitte der Hauptstrasse und Gemüseverkäufer dort wo der Verkehr eigentlich sein sollte, vorfinden möchte. Am frühen Nachmittag erreichten wir die Grossstadt und wurden von unserem Gastgeber Daoud herzlich empfangen. Zusammen mit seinem Cousin erkundeten wir die Medina und probierten verschiedene frisch gepresste Fruchtsaftkombinationen.

200.Tag: Ouezzane-Mograne

4. Dezember 2018:

Heute ist der 200. Tag auf unserer Reise von Norwegen nach Südafrika, was bedeutet, dass bereits etwa ein Drittel der Reise vorbei ist.

Nachdem wir das Gebirge definitiv verliessen, wurde die Gegend extrem schnell flach. Traktoren lösten Esel und Maultiere auf den riesigen Felder ab. Auf der Strasse kamen uns Dutzende von Pferden gezogene Kutschen mit frischen Lebensmittel entgegen, auf dem Weg zum Markt. Am Strassenrand grüssten uns viele Hirten mit ihren Ziegen, Schafen oder Kühen. Generell freuen sich die meisten Einheimischen über die zwei fahrradfahrenden Touristen. Ob Lastwagenfahrer mit einem Hupen oder Männer die am Strassenrand stehen mit einem Lächeln. Zum Mittagessen gab es heute Lammkotelettes, welche vom Metzger direkt vor unseren Augen mit der Machete vom am Fleischhaken hängenden Tier entfernt und direkt dem Grillmeister übergeben wurden. Beim Bezahlen mussten wir, wie meistens, um den Preis fälschen und gaben nicht nach bis wir das Gefühl hatten der Preis sei fair.

199.Tag: Chefchaouen-Ouezzane

3. Dezember 2018:

Nachdem wir die blauen, extrem verwinkelten Gassen voller kleiner Geschäfte durchquert hatten, verliessen wir Chefchaouen in Richtung Süden. Die vielen Korkeichen auf den ersten Kilometern erstaunen wenig, da 10% des marokkanischen Waldes auf diese fällt und das Nordafrikanische Land der drittgrösste Exporteur von Kork ist. Schnell wurde das Tal schmaler und wir folgten fast den ganzen Tag einem Fluss, welcher sich durch Olivenplantagen und kleine Dörfer schlängelte. Nachdem wir am Vortag viele Leute von Hand oder mit Maultieren auf dem Acker sahen, beobachteten wir heute sogar noch Frauen und Männer die das Mehl mit Hilfe eines Esels mahlten.

Die Hügel um uns herum wurden kleiner und das Gelände von Stunde zu Stunde flacher. Nach Ouezzane fanden wir einen flachen, schön gelegenen Platz, unweit der Strasse.

198.Tag: Akchour-Chefchaouen

2. Dezember 2018:

Nachdem wir einen jungen Mann beauftragten auf unsere Fahrräder inklusive Gepäck zu schauen, liefen wir dem Fluss entlang und erreichten bald einen schmalen Wanderweg. Dieser führte uns steil nach oben, weit über der Schlucht und bald konnten wir die «Gottesbrücke» sehen. Wir liefen bis zur Naturbrücke und fanden dort einen älteren Mann der Getränke und Haschisch verkaufte. Marokko ist der weltweit grösste Exporteur von Haschisch. Die Hanfpflanzen werden vorwiegend im Rif-Gebirge östlich von Chefchaouen angebaut. Schätzungsweise eine Million Marokkaner verdienen sich ihren Lebensunterhalt mit dem Anbau und Verkauf.

Gemäss Einheimischen konnten wir die Brücke nicht von unten bestaunen, da der Bach zu viel Wasser führte. Jedoch sahen wir einen kleinen, sehr exponierten Pfad der von der Brücke in die Schlucht führte. Wir wollten nicht denselben Weg zurück und dachten es würde schon irgendwie einen anderen Pfad aus der Schlucht geben. Am Anfang war der Pfad noch sehr einfach begehbar, wurde aber immer schwieriger und exponierter. Nach längerer Kletterei und Überqueren des Baches ohne Schuhe, realisierten wir, dass wir denselben Weg zurückmussten oder den extrem kalten Bach abwärts schwimmen. Nach dem erneuten hochklettern, liefen wir zurück zu den Fahrrädern und fuhren auf einer panoramareichen Strasse nach Chefchaouen.

197.Tag: Amsa-Akchour

1. Dezember 2018:

Am Morgen frühstückten wir bei herrlichem Sonnenschein und trockneten unsere nassen Kleider. Bevor wir losfuhren, probierte Hassan nochmals mit uns Geschäfte zu machen. Dieses Mal war er emotionaler und wurde wütend. Vor allem als er erfuhr, dass wir nicht vorhatten ihm Geld für den Übernachtungsplatz zu geben. Mit der Kenntnis dies könnte sein Vorhaben sein, fragten wir am Vorabend spezifisch zweimal nach, ob er Geld will für seine Gastfreundschaft und er verneinte deutlich. Nachdem wir den gescheiterten Marokkanischen Geschäftsmann und seine Fluchtiraden hinter uns liessen, erreichten wir die wunderschöne Küstenstrasse. Die Strasse führte steil hoch und runter bis wir Oued Laos erreichten. Schon voll im Rif Gebirgszug angekommen, führte uns die Strasse entlang eines Flusses immer tiefer in die Berge. Das Rif ist Teil des Atlas Gebirgszugs und erstreckt sich über 350km vom Mittelmeer bis zum Mittleren Atlas im Süden.

Es folgte eine imposante Schlucht, die von hohen Bergen umgeben ist und viele kleine Pfade, welche die Bergdörfer miteinander verbinden. Kurz danach erreichten wir den «Parc National de Talassemtane» und somit das Dorf Akchour. Der Park schützt den letzten Tannenwald Marokkos.